July 12, 2008

  • I have learned to trust my intuition over the years.  I can’t tell you how many times I didn’t follow my first instinct and soon thereafter, came to the realization that I made the wrong decision. The accumulation of life experiences will, over time, begin to yield some measure of wisdom that one can apply. I certainly understood these words when I was younger but couldn’t truly appreciate how to apply that in real life. It is also become evident that this intuition is about 80% right. The 20% balance of that time can be very tricky!  
     
    Recently I have been working through a team issue regarding a very large national client. There are two parts of this group who have decidedly differing points of view regarding the strategy and performance of two key figures.  As time has progressed, I have realized my assumptions were wrong on at least two of the parties involved.    In a similar way, I had a more personal experience in recent times with someone who has been an important part of my life.  I thought that I had heard this person’s voice but I clearly was mistaken.  Must have been that instinct thing. Being willing and able to listen is so important.  I did begin to learn early on how important this can be given the following story. 


    Very early on in my career I worked with a older man who was brilliant in his profession.  A tour de force in moving senior executives to consensus in making important decisions.  At times, he was so good it was as if he were leading a classroom full of young minds waiting to be told what to do.  And our audience was typically self-made people who were not accustomed to being led anywhere by anyone. I loved those experiences and learned so much.  It was high theater at times and I recall driving back to the office often laughing in hysterics.  As a younger guy, I asked this mentor once how long it would take before I could be to perform at that level.  After thinking for a few minutes as we drove back to the office, he said that with continued work and study, I would “be there” after about one thousand exposures.  I shook my head in acknowledgement and rested back into the seat thinking to myself, “Christ, I will be an old man by then”.  I eventually calculated that those exposures at a given rate would take me about four years to complete.  I did it in three…but that’s another story!

    The very act of crafting this entry has allowed me to rediscover a whole new approach!  Well it’s not so new for me, but is has been while since I thought this way.  And I was so sure I thoroughly understood the business situation.  In the past few days I have changed tactics and have come to understand other’s motivations a little better.  I spent more time listening and actually heard their voices this time around.  On the personal side, my hope was to show that I am in no way judgemental and willing to listen.  And that I am still here.  I didn’t take my ball and go home.  I must be one of the Libra types who likes the scales balanced!

    You know, I might like this blogging thing after all.  At least, that is what my intuition is telling me!

     

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *