July 8, 2008

  • Speaking of Coyotes

    Perhaps I spoke prematurely of coyotes.  Last night just past dusk, a wiley old coyote snagged my kitten.  I needn’t share the details but he will not be coming back.  There was a scuffle right outside my bedroom windows which developed and unfortunately ended quickly.  Such that it was, I was rather indisposed shall we say, ensconced on the throne! Thus, temporarily, unable to make any difference.  We searched in vain and no sign of the kitty.  A tough lesson in the laws of nature for the kids.  And a big caution to me for my newly founded coyote problem.  One I know how to remedy.  When not ensconced.

     Although, there is no question who lost the most sleep over this cat. It was this author who has always been slightly resistant to cats and yet succumbed to a little girl’s puppy dog eyes.  I think I mentioned I can be a pushover.  Well after agreeing to housing a veritable Noah’s ark of critters, I finally had  a cat. A kitten.  A really cute kitten.  And one that was litter box trained too!  You know the old cliche, “It was curiosity that killed the cat”.  True here as well.  As he grew larger, he became more bold moving deeper into the orchards and further into the night.  Not a good thing in my neck of the woods.

    Now, periodically I have been called lots of names over the years, some I even deserved.  Kind of like Captain Jack Sparrow in “Pirates of the Carib.”.  Kind of.  Without actually being whacked about!  But I digress….And yet, never would one assume that I was a cat guy.  ‘Til now.   er…..yesterday.  He was a blast around the house entertaining us all, including the dog.  She would let the cat climb all over her biting her tail and ears with a good nature.  Until it really hurt and she would lift her big gentle headand let out a warning growl to chill…which was always obeyed. And we will miss him. 

    I have been informed by shorter authorities that we will be getting a new cat as soon as one can be found.  So long as he/she is litter box trained!

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *