November 12, 2008

  • We participated in Veteran’s Day ceremony today at a community nearby.  Lots of folks from all different walks of life were in attendance. The main speaker was a surprise to me, a man who was a Holocaust survivor and was part of Oskar Schindler’s list.  He is, as you can imagine, an older man now.  His voice was soft but resolute.  The message touched on sacrifice, evil, compassion, and love. Love of country and the ideals it holds.  Love of family and friends.  With all of the horrible things he has witnessed and the losses he has endured, this man is at peace.  You can feel it in his voice. 

    I had an opportunity to speak with him afterwards.  After coming to the United States as a boy, he became an educator and worked for 39 years in the school system.  As it turns out, we both studied at the same graduate school.  Most certainly in different years and academic programs!  His lose of most of of his family and friends, made me think of the people I have lost.  Some have past this earth and some still live somewhere on it.  Where, I do not know.  I do not even have a phone number. 

    It is interesting how people come into your heart. And how, under the most adverse circumstances, they remain with us.  I have come to experience this in new ways over the years. Some people are so special that they become part of you.  And I am happy for that, for in special situations that appears to be all one will ever have.  On one hand it is profoundly sad and even depressing.  But it is also a blessing and a gift.  For without that experience, what would one have?

    I think this is why I found the gentleman so fascinating.  Not only through respecting his tumultuous past, but understanding how time heals wounds and brings about peace. In the world and in one’s own mind.   

    Onward and Upward.  –BTB

     

     

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *